Alice Shieldscomposer

This is a graphic menu; if you cannot see it, use the text navigation at the bottom of the page

The River of Memory — Program Notes

The River of Memory (2008)

Duration 12:00

Commissioned by trombonist Monique Buzzarté through the Soloist Champions project of Meet the Composer, funded by a commission/grant from the New York State Music Fund.

for Trombone and Computer Music

The River of Memory (2008, for trombone and computer music) is a meditation and reflection of memories in sound. The tempo is slow, like calm, deep waves flowing between minor and major tonalities, with little crests in major tonality, which soon subside into the next pool of mixed feelings."

Alice Shields
New York, NY

Return to Works for Electronic Media | Return to Instrumental Works

Home  |  Biography  |  Works  |  News  |  Recordings  |  Alice's Articles on Music  |  Press  |  Contacts